Ideally, your career or job or whatever should be something fun and interesting… I am looking for something to do other than what I do now… I find my job emotionally draining and uses alot of energy and effort to deal with political BS of working in schools and on teams… I am exhausted after a seeing 4 patients… Most of the time I am hoping for cancellations, no shows, or inclement weather days for some of my contracts… The point is I don’t want to see the babies and kids I serve… How weird is that?  It’s not that I don’t want to help them… It becomes frustrating and annoying because not everyone follows through with suggestions… Most parents’ excuses are they cry or I feel bad or whatever… In my mind, yes it feels bad to discipline or not satisfy the child’s desire until they imitate sounds or whatever … but the feel bad part is not the point.  The point is communication… so basically… if you want your child to talk then you get over the feel bad thing and know that part of teaching your children is dealing with the crying and temper tantrums… the crying and the temper tantrums are appropriate for young children…  they are supposed to cry… that’s how they express their frustrations, anger, and protests at their age… they do not have the skills to verbally express their feelings at the age of 2…  it’s not like anyone has ever died from crying… I mean you know….

Plus you have to earn a child’s respect so if you give in everytime they cry…. you don’t earn their respect which means the child is always going to manipulate you into doing what they  want to do not what you are telling them to do… I mean who’s the parent here… you or the child…  who ultimately decides what happens in your house?  I hope it would be you as the parent and not the child…

Now just imagine how it goes for me and the parent when I have to address these issues… crying, behavior, parenting… basically it’s not my fault your 2 year old is still on duplicated CVCV syllables you give in everytime the child whines… I am not a miracle worker… you have to do your part and reinforce what I do if you want to see a significant amount of progress…   I really have to rehearse almost daily before I see my in home patients to attempt to avoid hurting people’s feelings… it is exhausting on me… because I need to make sure my rapport is established with the parent otherwise it won’t go well… My first year of work was tough… the easy part was the kids… because it rarely bothers me to hear them cry… especially since I know the first couple of sessions they generally cry because they are trying to figure out what they can get away with while I am establishing routines and rules for the area of therapy…

Every once in a while I find a cute kiddo or baby who is eager to please, follows directions, motivated to improve their skills and of real importance to me INDEPENDENT…  Equally their families or parents are following through with suggestions and recommendations… These ideal clients of mine are few and far between…

I love to see the satisfaction of my families and the kids themselves (in general) when they are able to succeed… I also enjoy watching the parents amazement when they realize I was right and that their child can do what is expected of them…  basically if you expect it from them they will attempt to please and fulfill the expectation…  But you must inform them of your expectations and not just tell them, believe, walk the talk or whatever… I mean they should be able tell you really mean it with one look…

My hubbie told me a long time ago that I will grow bored with anything I decide to do so I shouldn’t invest too much time or money in my next move… It’s not that I don’t follow through you see… it’s that I get bored once I feel like I understand the concepts globally…  I am also easily frustrated by the excuses and blah blah blah of others…  I didn’t believe him at the time… Well 3 weeks ago I started researching my personality type INTJ… now I realize he’s right and I probably will have a hard time finding something to do for the rest of my life… so I feel stuck… and when I feel stuck I become not fun to be around… you see?  So I am in a quest to find a new job… so here you are… nothing really sounds like something I could do forever… I have seen things that maybe somehting I could do for a while but definitely nothing I could do forever… bear in mind that I would like to make good money in whatever it is I choose to do… See I plan to retire on an island and money will not be an issue…   I want to be free and happy and to enjoy what I like to do… hang around and take it all in…  I’ve always wanted to take photography lessons and I think I am pretty good for an amateur… but you see I know that for now photography would have to be a hobby rather than a job because I need to help pay bills… so that puts me in a difficult place to be…  Any suggestions?  Do I sound like an INTJ now?  Also, it appears I maybe an Enneagram 1… is that a weird combination??

